Skip to content


The tournament is held annually at Immanuel Lutheran College, Eau Claire. A flyer describing this year’s tournament adds the following information: “Welcome . . . . This year’s tournament has been renamed as the Don Brandt Memorial Basketball Tournament. It was named after its founder who passed away last year. In 1986, he organized a tournament of CLC grade schools with teams, to play basketball with other churches in our synod. There were only five teams in the first tournament. There are fourteen teams this year, including St. John’s Blazers (Okabena, Minn.) and the Phoenix Thunderbirds, the two new teams. This year’s basketball games were organized by Mr. Ted Quade and Mr. Mark Kranz.”

Besides the two new teams, other teams were: Austin Pioneers, Austin, Minn.; Berea Bobcats, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.; Faith Falcons, Coloma, Mich.; Fond Lakers, Fond du Lac, Wis.; Fridley Falcons, Fridley, Minn.; Gethsemane Grizzlies, Saginaw, Mich.; Grace Spartans, Valentine, Nebr.; Mankato Trojans, Mankato, Minn.; Marksan, Mustangs, Markesan, Wis.; Messiah Rams, Hales Corners, Wis.; Messiah Squires, Eau Claire, Wis. and Trinity Eagles, Watertown, S.Dak.